This is not a professional post. Honestly, I would not try to repeat the below in my work, there is no need to. But in my home network, I managed to make an Ethernet connection using ordinary telephone cable and that over a considerable distance.
Ten years ago when I renovated my house I could not dream that my home network would work over Wi-Fi. Actually I was proud to have a bunch of CAT 5 cables installed by the electrician. I have recently built an extension to my house at some distance away. Back in time, I anticipated the extension and asked the electrician to pull quite a few cables in the garden in wait of my bank to gain trust on me again. There was no CAT 5 cables but a four pair telephone cable among those cables.

It goes without saying that my house’s Wi-Fi did not work in the extension building but only if you happened to sit in one single place, without turning your head or moving your left arm…

I was already thinking about my bank account plummeting towards the red line with all the hardware I would need to connect the extension building wireless with the main building. Wireless? I remembered the telephone cable. Of course I would not need a wired telephone in the extension building in this era of mobile telephony, therefore the telephone cable could be used to connect the two buildings together over the Ethernet. But will the Ethernet work over the telephone cable?

I found some encouraging examples from the Internet, after all CAT 5 defines non-shielded cables for shorter distances. I decided to try it and asked our network guys to loan me AMP’s RJ45 compression tool and some RJ45 connectors. With this tool, a 7 meter CAT 5 Ethernet cable, a soldering iron and some other tools I hacked the following installation in few hours of time (click for bigger image):
Ethernet on phone cable
And the best thing is that it works! The telephone cable colors were in my case: gray, white, yellow, blue, orange, violet, clear, brown (in the connection order). Essential was to find out the actual twisted pairs in the cable. The pairs should be matched with the CAT 5 twisted pairs for successful connection.

My ADSL modem (Alcatel SpeedTouch 510) and my Wi-Fi router (LinkSys) are happily discussing together over 50 meters of distance. They are both 100 Mbit/s enabled but I do not have no way to see the actual connection speed between the two devices. Nor that it somehow matters since I am not doing any file transfers here but just accessing Internet over my 2 Mbit/s connection. And that speed is reached in both buildings.

